CV

Jon Cooper independent artist

Born in Wyoming

Lives & works in Pennsylvania

Art is the most honest thing I can do.

​I came very late to the visual arts, having spent somewhere around 20 odd years in higher education. I didn't learn to draw until I was in my late 30's; in my early 40's I realized that I was only happy when I was making art, and it's all I wanted to do.

​So here I am: doing my best to make art my own; to learn my craft and hone my skills; to observe the world and translate that to artistic expression; to deepen my understanding of art and its history; and to do all this while raising a wonderful family of four kiddos and two cats with my rad wife of 20 years.


Education

2024 intern at Fox Clark Gallery, Indiana, PA

2022 - present Indiana University of Pennsylvania, BA Art Studio

Exhibitions & Festivals

*2024 Like Me, Miller Gallery, Indiana University of Pennsylvania (with invited gallery talk)

2024 Untitled (2024): The Exhibition, Fox Clark Gallery, Indiana, PA

2024 Tree Tree Tree, Miller Gallery, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

2023; 2024 Indiana Art Association Open Arts Show, Indiana, PA

2023 Common Goods, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

2023 Traffic Island Oasis, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

2023 Grands Petites, Indiana, PA

Grants & Awards

2023 Future Makers Fund, localXchange, $430

2023 Faculty STEAMSHOP workshop, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, $500

2023 Undergraduate Student Research Grant, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, $940

​Organizational Memberships & Service

2024-present The Fox Clark Gallery, Gallery Assistant

2024-present Pennsylvania Watercolor Society, member

2024-present Kipp Gallery, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, board member

2024-present Indiana Arts Council, member

2023-present College Art Association, member

2023-present Indiana Arts Association, chair, membership committee


​*denotes a solo exhibition